skip to Main Content

Practitioners plan for the children’s learning using their knowledge of child development, their understanding of each child’s individual needs and their interests.

They also use the Early Years Foundation Stage framework to ensure all children are reaching their full potential. We plan and implement a variety of experiences for children across the 7 areas of learning enabling them to explore, play and immerse themselves in developing their skills.

1.Communication and Language

Aims to develop listening and attention, understanding and speaking skills

2. Personal Social and Emotional Development

Aims to develop making relationships, self-confidence and self-awareness and managing feelings and behaviour

3. Physical Development

Aims to develop moving and handling and health and self-care skills

4. Literacy

Aims to develop reading and writing skills

5. Mathematics

Aims to develop numbers and shape space and measure skills

6. Understanding the world

Aims to develop people and communities, the world and technology skills

7. Expressive Arts and Design

Aims to develop exploring media and materials and being imaginative skills

The first 3 prime areas are reflections of the key skills that children need to develop the skills to be ready for school. As children grow older and gain more confidence in the prime areas the balance shifts to a more equal focus on all areas of learning. Practitioners will be observing and encouraging your child every day enabling them to provide valuable feedback to ensure we are meeting their needs. Parents are also encouraged to participate in their child’s learning journey by sharing observations from home.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Our practitioners are aware that every child has a unique learning style and take this into consideration when planning the environment.  The characteristics of effective learning as stated in the EYFS are:

Playing and Exploring

Children are engaged in learning showing curiosity about objects, events and people using senses to explore the world around them.  Children enjoy engaging in open-ended activity and taking on a role in their play.  Children are willing to have a go, seeking challenge and show a can do attitude.

Active Learning

Children have motivation to maintain focus, showing high levels of energy and fascination while not being easily distracted.  Children bounce back after difficulties and show a belief that more effort or a difference approach will pay off.  Children are persistent and show satisfaction when meeting their own goals.

Creating and Thinking Critically

Children think of their own ideas, find solutions and making links.  Children are able to test their ideas and make predictions and change strategy when needed.  Children are able to check how activities are going and review how well the approach worked.


Schemas are patterns of repetitive behavior which allow children to explore and express developing thoughts through play allowing them to construct meaning in what they are doing.  Our practitioners also take into account each child’s schematic play and plan for this to be accessible in every area of the setting.

The most common types include:

Trajectory – pushing, kicking, dropping objects, filling and emptying containers

Rotation – roll their bodies, twist, spin, roll, turn objects

Enclosing – joining lines, building structures,

Enveloping – covering themselves with objects, materials, hide, camouflage, making dens, wrap items, paint over things with single colour, paint hands and peel it off

Transporting – moving objects from place to place in hands, containers, pockets

Connecting – joining things, tying things

Positioning – positioning, arranging, ordering objects

Orientation – look at things from different viewpoints, hanging upside down, looking through legs, building ramps, rolling, climbing

Back To Top